Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: Books On My Fall TBR


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is top ten books on my fall TBR. My biggest goal this fall is to finish some of my unfinished series. I also have a few standalones sitting around.



1-4. The Unwind Dystology – Neal Shusterman

After the Second Civil War, the Bill of Life states that human life may not be touched from the moment of conception until a child reaches the age of thirteen. However, a loophole allows parents to retroactively get rid of a teenager through a process called "unwinding." 
Three teens defy the system and run away from their unwinding: Connor, a rebel whose parents have ordered his unwinding; Risa, a ward of the state who is to be unwound due to cost-cutting; and Lev, his parents’ tenth child whose unwinding has been planned since birth as a religious tithing.  
As their paths intersect and lives hang in the balance, Connor, Risa, and Lev must work together to survive and to change the fate of America in the process.



5-7. The Time Trilogy/Quintet – Madeleine L’Engle

This series follows the lives of Meg Murry, her youngest brother Charles Wallace Murry, and their friend Calvin O'Keefe as they try to save the world from evil forces. The remaining Murry siblings, twins Sandy and Dennys Murry, take up the struggle in one volume from which the other protagonists are largely absent. A further book about Polly O'Keefe, the eldest child of Meg and Calvin, features several characters from the other novels and completes the Time Quintet.



8. I’ll Give You the Sun – Jandy Nelson

Jude and her twin brother Noah are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.  
This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.



9. The Game of Love and Death – Martha Brockenbrough

Antony and Cleopatra. Helen of Troy and Paris. Romeo and Juliet. And now . . . Henry and Flora.  
For centuries Love and Death have chosen their players. They have set the rules, rolled the dice, and kept close, ready to influence, angling for supremacy. And Death has always won. Always.  
Could there ever be one time, one place, one pair whose love would truly tip the balance?  
Meet Flora Saudade, an African-American girl who dreams of becoming the next Amelia Earhart by day and sings in the smoky jazz clubs of Seattle by night. Meet Henry Bishop, born a few blocks and a million worlds away, a white boy with his future assured—a wealthy adoptive family in the midst of the Great Depression, a college scholarship, and all the opportunities in the world seemingly available to him.  
The players have been chosen. The dice have been rolled. But when human beings make moves of their own, what happens next is anyone’s guess. 
Achingly romantic and brilliantly imagined, The Game of Love and Death is a love story you will never forget.



10. All the Bright Places – Jennifer Niven

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death. 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. 
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.




12 comments:

  1. I'll Give You The Sun is a great Fall pick! Now I wish I had read it outside underneath a tree of colorful leaves, with the wind blowing. Sounds like a perfect fall setting. I hope you enjoy it! Happy TTT

    ReplyDelete
  2. All The Bright Places has an interesting premise and am very curious about it. I hope you enjoy it along with the rest of your fall tbr!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I adore fall and I love fall reading even more. Hope you enjoy these!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Unwind is AMAZING--hope you enjoy it! I love A Wrinkle in Time, too. And this reminds me that I've been meaning to read The Game of Love and Death...

    Here's my list:http://thespellboundreader.blogspot.com/2015/09/top-ten-tuesday-fall-tbr.html

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love the Unwind series, I hope you enjoy them!

    ReplyDelete
  6. The 1st 2 books of the Time Quintet are definitely my favorites! But if you're a fan of L'Engle, then they are all worth a read. My TTT

    ReplyDelete
  7. I'll Give You the Sun is such an amazing book!!! All the Bright Places is one I really want to get to myself - Great list!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I actually haven't read any of these books, but I hope to soon! I hope you love them all!

    My TTT

    Lizzie @ Big Books and Grande Lattes

    ReplyDelete
  9. The Time Trilogy/Quintet is one that I've been meaning to read for a long time but I've never gotten around to it. I'd definitely be curious to read your thoughts on it! Oh and I've heard great things about The Unwind Dystology! Awesome selection here^^ happy reading ♥

    ReplyDelete
  10. The Unwind dystology is one of my favourite series ever, hope you enjoy it!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/09/22/top-ten-tuesday-23/

    ReplyDelete
  11. I ADORED The Sky is Everywhere, and I really need to get to reading I'll Give You The Sun if it's anywhere near as good. Unwind has been on my "maybe" list for quite a while now, but everything I've heard about it is CREEPY. I don't do creepy, most of the time. And All The Bright Places! I don't appreciate the comparisons to TFioS, but I'm thinking about reading it :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. I have heard good things about the Unwind trilogy and it is one I need to start reading pretty soon as well! I recently finished reading All the Bright Places for a buddy read and I actually quite liked it. It was different, but still nice.

    ReplyDelete

I do a happy dance every time I get a comment. (You should be grateful that you’re not around to witness this dance. It’s truly horrifying.) Leave a link to your blog so I can visit you.