Saturday, July 18, 2015

The Book Haul To End All Book Hauls (Part 3)


Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews. I get to show off all the books I’ve gotten recently.

I ordered so many books that they had to be shipped in 7 different boxes. Here are the contents of boxes #3 and #4.



The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender – Leslye Walton

Magical realism, lyrical prose, and the pain and passion of human love haunt this hypnotic generational saga. 
Foolish love appears to be the Roux family birthright, an ominous forecast for its most recent progeny, Ava Lavender. Ava—in all other ways a normal girl—is born with the wings of a bird. 
In a quest to understand her peculiar disposition and a growing desire to fit in with her peers, sixteen-year-old Ava ventures into the wider world, ill-prepared for what she might discover and na├»ve to the twisted motives of others. Others like the pious Nathaniel Sorrows, who mistakes Ava for an angel and whose obsession with her grows until the night of the Summer Solstice celebration. 
That night, the skies open up, rain and feathers fill the air, and Ava’s quest and her family’s saga build to a devastating crescendo. 
First-time author Leslye Walton has constructed a layered and unforgettable mythology of what it means to be born with hearts that are tragically, exquisitely human.



The Game of Love and Death – Martha Brockenbrough

Antony and Cleopatra. Helen of Troy and Paris. Romeo and Juliet. And now . . . Henry and Flora. 
For centuries Love and Death have chosen their players. They have set the rules, rolled the dice, and kept close, ready to influence, angling for supremacy. And Death has always won. Always. 
Could there ever be one time, one place, one pair whose love would truly tip the balance? 
Meet Flora Saudade, an African-American girl who dreams of becoming the next Amelia Earhart by day and sings in the smoky jazz clubs of Seattle by night. Meet Henry Bishop, born a few blocks and a million worlds away, a white boy with his future assured—a wealthy adoptive family in the midst of the Great Depression, a college scholarship, and all the opportunities in the world seemingly available to him. 
The players have been chosen. The dice have been rolled. But when human beings make moves of their own, what happens next is anyone’s guess. 
Achingly romantic and brilliantly imagined, The Game of Love and Death is a love story you will never forget.



I’ll Give You the Sun – Jandy Nelson

Jude and her twin brother Noah are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world. 
This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.



The Wrath and the Dawn – Renee Ahdieh

Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi's wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend. 
She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all.



I Am the Messenger – Markus Zusak

Ed Kennedy is an underage cabdriver without much of a future. He's pathetic at playing cards, hopelessly in love with his best friend Audrey, and utterly devoted to his coffee-drinking dog, the Doorman. His life is one of peaceful routine and incompetence until he inadvertently stops a bank robbery. 
That's when the first ace arrives in the mail. 
That's when Ed becomes the messenger. 
Chosen to care, he makes his way through town helping and hurting (when necessary) until only one question remains: Who's behind Ed's mission?





All the Bright Places – Jennifer Niven

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death. 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. 
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.




13 comments:

  1. Ahh, so many great books this week! I really enjoyed All the Bright Places, and I'm really jealous of I'll Give You the Sun! Happy reading :)

    Kim @ Divergent Gryffindor: BLOG || VLOG
    Most recent posts: The Book Shelf Tag || Hermione Granger Doll

    ReplyDelete
  2. Very interesting selection of books. I hope that you love all of them.

    Grace @ Books of Love

    ReplyDelete
  3. I am jealous of all your books! Wow... that is one heck of a haul! Happy Reading!

    ReplyDelete
  4. So many pretty books! Great haul, I hope you enjoy them all.

    Happy reading! My StS

    ReplyDelete
  5. These look like some fun books here!!

    ReplyDelete
  6. What a great selection of books - All the Bright Places is on my wishlist. Here are my finds for this week https://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2015/07/18/stacking-the-shelves-july-18/

    ReplyDelete
  7. You've got a great haul this week, lots of awesome looking books. I hope you enjoy them all :)

    I LOVED All the Bright Places AND The Game of Love and Death, both were incredible and both gave me all the feels and made me cry. Two of my new favourites.

    Charnell @ Reviews from a Bookworm

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'll Give You the Sun is a wonderful book! I've wanted to check out All the Bright Places for a while. Everyone seems to love it. Have a great week.
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    ReplyDelete
  9. These are a lot of books I want to read!! I actually just started I'll Give You the Sun and am really liking it. The Wrath and the Dawn and All the Bright Places are so high on my TBR - Hope you enjoy them all!!

    ReplyDelete
  10. OOoh nice! I still need to read The Wrath and the Dawn myself! Can't wait to do so! Hope you enjoy all the new reads!

    Here's my STS

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. I'll Give You the Sun and All the Bright Places are two of my faves! I am going to read The Wrath of Dawn soon!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    ReplyDelete
  12. Can I just say that it's hilarious that you ordered so many books they had to be shipped in segments? Haha! Where did you order from?! I once ordered like, 30 books from Book Outlet and they all came in a HUGE box at once! In any case, The Wrath and the Dawn looks so good! I have it too, but I haven't read it yet. I can't wait to see your thoughts on that one!

    Here's my Weekly Recap!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lol, it totally is hilarious. I ordered from Amazon, Book Outlet, the Paperback Swap store, and a used bookstore that sells through Amazon.

      Aj @ Read All The Things!

      Delete

I do a happy dance every time I get a comment. (You should be grateful that you’re not around to witness this dance. It’s truly horrifying.) Leave a link to your blog so I can visit you.